Cambridge International AS & A Levels (Equivalent to Grade XI & XII)

Advanced Subsidiary Level and Advanced Level from Cambridge International Examinations, in short AS / A Levels are benchmarked qualifications typically for learners aged 16 to 19 years. It provides excellent preparation for university and higher education. This Cambridge qualification develops learners’ knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • In-depth subject content
  • Independent thinking
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
  • Handling and evaluating different types of information source.
  • Thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments
  • Making judgements, recommendations and decisions.
  • Presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them logically and clearly.
  • Working and communicating in English.

Understanding Cambridge International A Levels

Cambridge International A Level is a two-year course - the first year known an AS Level is equal to half an A Level. The second year is the Advanced (A) Level. It is also sometimes referred to as an A2 and is equal to a full A Level qualification. Learners take all the assessments for their full A Level at the end of the second year. AS Level can be taken as a stand-alone qualification, or as the first part of an A level course.

How many A-Level subjects should one take?

The minimum requirement even for the best universities is that a student should take three A-Level Subjects. Some students choose to take on additional AS or full A Level subjects, giving them a total of four or five A Levels with which to apply to university. As a minimum, students usually choose four AS Level subjects, one of which will be dropped at A2.

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are very flexible. There are over 55 Cambridge International AS and A Level subjects to choose four subjects from across. Students have the freedom to select the subjects that are right for them - they either follow a broad course of study, or specialise in a particular area.

Subjects offered at CPS Global

Requirements to join Cambridge AS & A Levels

The prerequisites to study Cambridge International AS/A Levels at CPS Global are very simple. Students of IGCSE or Grade 10 from any other curricula are expected to have atleast a ‘C’ Grade or its equivalent marks in Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, ICT. Some subjects like Economics, Business, Psychology, Accounting etc., can be taken up at an entry level where previous knowledge is not mandatory.

Assessment Options

Cambridge International AS and A Levels use a wide range of assessment processes and techniques to supplement formal written examinations – orals, practicals, projects and coursework of differing types are all used in various subjects where they are the most effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

Learners can choose from a range of assessment options to gain Cambridge

International AS & A Level qualifications

  • Take the Cambridge International AS Level only. The syllabus content is half a Cambridge International A Level.
  • Take a ‘staged’ assessment route – take the Cambridge International AS Level in one examination series and complete the final Cambridge International A Level at a subsequent series. AS Level marks can be carried forward to a full A Level twice within a 13 month period.*
  • Take all papers of the Cambridge International A Level course in the same examination session, usually at the end of the course.

Reporting Achievement

Each subject that a learner takes receives a separate grade. Grades are benchmarked using internationally recognised grades, which have clear guidelines to explain the standards of achievement

The Cambridge International A Level is reported on a grade scale from A* (highest) to E (minimum required performance). There is no A* grade for Cambridge International AS Level, which run from grade A to E.

University Recognition

The Association of Indian Universities (AIU), the organisation that awards equivalence to foreign degrees in India has granted equivalence to Cambridge International A Levels to pursue Bachelor’s degree programs at Indian Universities. According to AIU, a student must have at least a pass on 5 IGCSE subjects including English Language and a pass in 2 or 3 Cambridge International A Level subjects. This criteria is recognised as the equivalent of Class XII qualification of an Indian Board.

For more information, visit